Driving under the influence is one of the most common crimes in the United States. Typically, DUI refers to driving while impaired by alcohol, and DUID refers to driving while impaired by drugs. Though these offenses are different, they are both treated in the same manner.
Contact The Law Office of Steve Spiegelman if you've been arrested for driving under the influence. Attorney Steve Spiegelman will make sure you're properly represented, get you through the legal process as smoothly as possible, and negotiate your charge as effectively as possible.
The Process of getting a DUI in California
For a first-offense DUI in California, it generally involves three years of informal probation, fines of $390 plus "penalty assessments" ("penalty assessments" totaling approximately $2000), and being put through a first offender alcohol course.
1. Upon arrest for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, your driver's license is sent to the California DMV. If you do not request a hearing within 10 days of your arrest, the DMV will automatically suspend your license. This process is completely voluntary.
2. The arraignment is the first step of your court case. The prosecutor will explain the state's offer and let you enter your plea during the arraignment.
3. After entering a not guilty plea, your Sonoma County DUI lawyer will proceed to review the evidence against you. He or she will check for evidence of flawed police investigations, inaccurate scientific calculations, and faulty equipment.
4. After that, the proceedings will progress to pre-trial motions and plea bargaining. This is when the attorney argues with the investigator or asks for lesser charges, if necessary.
5. There are some circumstances that warrant a trial in DUI cases. In these situations, the court proceedings are very lengthy and complex, including jury selection, extensive case presentations, verdicts, and sentencing.
For more information please call The Law Office of Steve Spiegelman for a FREE Consultation (707) 575-1103